Hessische Bergstrasse Region

​The Hessissche Bergstrasse beats out the Mittelrhein by a mere ten vineyard hectares to be Germany’s smallest of the thirteen official wine growing regions (“anbaugebiete”/on-bou-gi-bēt-ǝ/). The Hessissche Bergstrasse sits divided in two small areas between the cities of Mannheim, Heidelberg, and Frankfurt am Main. It is one of the four German wine regions that grow about half or more riesling. The others are the Mosel, Rheingau, and Mittelrhein.